General knowledge

Saturday, 26 May 2018



The FIFA World Cup, often simply called the World Cup, Federation Internationale de Football Association (FIFA), The championship has been awarded every four years since the inaugural tournament in 1930, except in 1942 and 1946 when it was not held because of the Second World War. The current champion is Germany, which won its fourth title at the 2014 tournament in Brazil. 2018 tournament in Russia

2018 world Cup Finals 32 teams :

The 20 World Cup tournaments have been won by eight national teams.

Important notice

  • The world's first international football match was a challenge match played in Glasgow in 1872 between Scotland and England. which ended in a 0–0 draw.
  • After FIFA was founded in 1904, it tried to arrange an international football tournament between nations outside the Olympic framework in Switzerland in 1906.
  • First world cup winner Uruguay.
  • Women first world cup 2007 and winner Germany.
  • The World Cup is a gold trophy that is awarded to the winners of the FIFA World Cup association football tournament. Since the advent of the World Cup in 1930, two trophies have been used: the Jules Rimet Trophy from 1930 to 1970, and the FIFA World Cup Trophy from 1974 to the present day.

  • "FIFA World Cup Trophy", was introduced in 1974. Made of 18 carat gold with a malachite base, it stands 36.8 centimetres high and weighs 6.1 kilograms.
  • The trophy was made by Stabilimento Artistico Bertoni company in Italy. 
  • It depicts two human figures holding up the Earth. The current holder of the trophy is Germany, winner of the 2014 World Cup.
  • After 1970, a new trophy, known as the FIFA World Cup Trophy, was designed. The experts of FIFA, coming from seven countries, evaluated the 53 presented models, finally opting for the work of the Italian designer Silvio Gazzaniga. The new trophy is 36 cm (14.2 in) high, made of solid 18 carat (75%) gold and weighs 6.175 kg (13.6 lb).

Winner list :

, ,

No comments:

Post a Comment